theresa mARTin

mixed media art

Lesley Riley TAP Giveaway

31 Comments

In art school we learned to do transfers by putting several coats of gel medium over a newspaper image. Each thin layer would have to dry before putting on a new layer. After it was all completely dry we had to run the image under warm soapy water and painfully soak away the image until all that was left was the ink soaked into the gel medium, which would then have to dry over time. That’s only if you were lucky enough to have it not fall apart into a soggy mess, which always happened to me. Fast forward to today and to TAP Transfer Artist Paper by Lesley Riley and I can say we’ve come a long way baby!

Tap Class Lesley Riley

I used TAP on  two pieces which appeared in Lesley’s TAP book Link found here on Amazon.

theresa mARTin TAP

theresa mARTin TAP

theresa mARTin TAP

I love the ease of using TAP and the precision one gets. It helps to learn some nuances for using it by taking Lesley’s class here.  TAP is versatile and you can use it on fabric, paper, wood, copper and more.  It’s the best inkjet sheet I’ve used for transferring. If you don’t have an inkjet printer, you can draw on it and transfer your original artwork.

Lesley is generously offering a Giveaway of her Online Tap Class, to one of my readers and is a $45 value! You can find more info about the Class HERE. She’s also giving away a 5 pack of TAP and that link is HERE.

Please leave a comment on this post telling me how you’d use TAP and there will be one winner for the free class announced in the comment section of this post on July 10.

31 thoughts on “Lesley Riley TAP Giveaway

  1. LOL! I have had the same frustrations with gel medium transfers….also transparency transfers and many products that promise but don’t deliver…..so far TAP has not disappointed me…. except when I tried to apply it to a substrate that couldn’t take heat…… and ruined a project……but … OH WELL….so much to learn, so little time…..

  2. Inspirational creations on display.
    I adore TAP, my preferred use of it is with my beloved photo real stamps. Time after time perfect results are achieved, i n fact when I want to use a photo real stamp on anything other than glossy cardstock then it is always TAP I reach for. Now I would like to take the use of TAP to another level, I have so much to learn especially with transferring to wood, glass, etc.
    Many Thanks for the opportunity to join this generous Giveaway.
    Wishes
    Lynne

  3. I would use TAP on my altered projects, probably on tags and canvases. I’ve tried using transfer medium but always tear the transfer when trying to get the paper off.

  4. Oh how I identifiy with the soggy mess! Sometimes the distressed look works but I would love a clear transfer – always wanted to try it. Thanks for the chance at the giveaway!!!!!!

  5. I have never used TAP, I would love to incorporate it in my Mixed Media Jewelry!

  6. Would love the chance to use this product. Gorgeous projects Theresa! I’d use it to make mixed media pieces using special family photos and places travelled.

  7. I would love to learn how to master the art of transfer! Thank you for such a cool giveaway. TAP looks like a cool medium that would be fun to use and make transferring graphics and pictures, so much easier!!

  8. I would really like to win this giveaway and learn how to use TAP! Thanks for the chance to win!

  9. After seeing all the things that can be done with TAP I would love to win a spot in the online class to learn even more. Thanks so much for sharing your inspiring projects.

  10. Mostly I would use TAP in my art journal. I’ve tried the messy transfer methods and am not in love with them. The old inkjet/toner/laser copy business always confused me–which I could use with which transfer medium. Ugh! TAP sounds perfect. Thanks for sponsoring a chance to get in Lesley’s class.

  11. As always, your TAP art is beautiful! Thanks for a chance to win a spot in Lesley’s class….I really need to give TAP a try!

  12. I plan to use TAP for the embroidery house challenge you’ve posted and would love to win this class with Lesley! Thanks for this give-away! Chris

  13. TAPping into a lot of good ideas. Would love to win a spot in the class to learn more

  14. I’ve just learned about TAP, so this is new to me. I would add my Mandala for sleep onto a pillow case for my first project. The class and product seem great!

  15. I want to use TAP for unique quilt blocks. Thanks for offering this give away!

  16. I am just learning as much as I can and I haven’t use TAP till now. I would use it to make a unique bag. But I just have to learn how to use TAP at all. Thanks for offering a chance to join Lesley’s workshop.

  17. I would love to use this in my mixed media projects. It looks so much easier than the ways I’ve tried so far. I would love to win a place in the workshop. Thanks for the opportunity.

  18. It looks so EASY…and such finely detailed images. I MUST learn more.

  19. I want to make a family tree quilt and TAP looks like just the medium to help me do that. I would love a seat in the workshop. I can also see it as fun to play with in my art journal. Thanks for the chance – Pick me!

  20. I think I could use TAP under my wax paintings. Since it’s a transfer I think it would work quite well. Thanks for the chance to win!

  21. I tried TAP when it first came out and loved the results. Thanks for the giveaway/blog hop. ~Denise

  22. Just bought a TAP pack to try out but as yet I don’t know how to use it, so will google for some tutorials.

  23. I would use TAP to transfer some of my art on clothes. Thanks for the chance to win.

  24. Theresa, I’m so excited to try the TAP on my canvas art, hopefully if I don’t win a pack I can find it at JoAnns. Thanks for the chance at a spot in Lesley’s class! Thanks for sharing your awesome project!

    Hugs,

    Carmen L
    cal8007 at aol dot com

  25. After reading all the different ways TAP can be used I would try it with mixed media on canvas, fabric quilting looks amazing and tea bags sound interesting. Tahnk you for the giveaway.

  26. Hello! A chance to try TAP would be awesome, thanks!

  27. Hi Theresa,
    I would use TAP in my art journalling. I have used other methods of transfer and usually have trouble with them. Thanks for the opportunity to win a spot in Lesley’s class.

  28. I have been experimenting with fabric wall hangings and would love to use TAP to make some clean precise transfers to use on fabric. Wishing and hoping….

  29. I love your sewing. Super ideas.

  30. I am always looking for a better way to transfer photos into my memory journals. I love that I could draw on TAP to transfer my own art. I would love to learn all the ways TAP can be used. Thanks for a chance to win a spot in Lesley’s class……if it’s not too late!

  31. Thank you all for your thoughtful comments. I enjoyed hearing about everyone’s work. We have a winner and it’s
    lmsmurphy of inanoctopusgarden. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

