theresa mARTin

mixed media art

Struggling with a Wolf

4 Comments

Wolf pattern

Struggling with a Wolf; the Evolution of a Pattern.

 

I have been struggling with a wolf. A wolf pattern, that is, for a Little Red Riding Hood Icon piece.  The first group of patterns I came up with were like the ones above. The plan is to do the beadwork on a loom. I worked and reworked the forms in an online bead pattern generator until I came up with the above, fairly decent image. It took a lot of work to get the bead width to 45 beads, which is daunting enough. It didn’t excite me enough, however, to make the commitment to all that beadwork.

Wolf Pattern

Super detail

I found another bead generator online called Patterns for you and came up with a much more detailed version that I like a lot. BUT it has 100 x 100 rows of beads (for 10,0000 beads), much too complex for my small bead loom!

NewWolfHeadWithAngle
I decided to go back to an earlier idea of having just the wolf’s head in an outlined square and it has kept all the detail, focuses more on the BIG TEETH and this is the one with which I’ll move forward. The evolution that came from the struggle was worth it, don’t you agree?

It’s still an ambitious pattern and in the end this will be a small portion of a 12″ x 12″ canvas that will include an embroidered Little Red Riding Hood figure. The bead count for the Big Bad Wolf will be 2116, which will keep me busy for a while.  I’ll show you progress as it happens.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Struggling with a Wolf

  1. Wow! Looks like a lot of detailed work no matter which design you choose!
    I do like the head though and look forward to what you create! You are so talented Theresa!

  2. This is way over my head so kudos to you Theresa for getting the patterning and working it all out!

  3. Oh this does look like a really intricate undertaking that requires a whole new skill set.
    Can’t wait to see your brilliant results Theresa!
    oxo

Leave a Reply

