theresa mARTin

mixed media art

Process For Little Red Riding Hood’s Beaded Wolf

3 Comments

 

Beaded Wolf progress

First day’s progress on the loom

Beaded Wolf progress

Beaded Wolf second day’s progress

 

Beaded wolf

Finished piece is 3.5″ x 3.5″

This was an ambitious piece for a loom beginner and I learned a lot about how to make the next piece better.  The beads are 46″ across by 46″ tall so it comes to 2116 tiny Delica beads.  The spacing isn’t as tight as I’d like, but I can adjust the way I worked on the loom for the next time. Being a fan of showing the artist’s hand in artwork I like it despite the imperfections, and will most likely use it in the Little Red Riding Hood piece I have in mind. It will be a small portion of a bigger piece.

Embroidery of Little Red Riding Hood

Embroidery of Little Red Riding Hood to go with the wolf

I’ve been planning to have the wolf to the left of Little Red, looking at her but I don’t have a clear answer in my mind as to how they will go together yet. This piece may need to sit a little while until it’s completely solved.  Thanks for coming along for the ride.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Process For Little Red Riding Hood’s Beaded Wolf

  1. I love seeing the process. I’ve never used a bead loom before but I do bead embroider with those tiny beads!! I love how the look but I seriously need a magnifier! Congrats on this, it’s off to a lovely start!

  2. It turned out beautifully Theresa! Must take time …and a lot of patience to create such intricate works-and I’m not quite that patient:)

  3. WOW! I still cannot believe you are a beginner as you say,Theresa! this wolf came out so very cool- I cannot wait to see how he and Red complete their journey!

Leave a Reply

